Jaguar I-Pace Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm in the process of taking down my next career which will be a used I Pace. I've researched lots of options and gone through various specs on different cars and recently stumbled across the above spec choice, which seems quite rare?!

I've had a solid look through the various threads regarding suspension differences and people's thoughts and opinions but haven't seen anything on AD without Air. I'm a keen driver, hence choosing I pace! If like to get a vibe on the following...

1) Does the combination of spec exist or is it a description blunder by sellers.
2) What does it drive like compared to stock steel.
3) Should I be looking at a car with AS & AD for the most dynamic drive? (I've driven a stock 20 and was pleasantly surprised with the comfort and drivability combination)

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Adaptive dynamics must come with air suspension. It effectively monitors the suspension and constantly adjusts the settings to keep the car level. There is nothing it could adjust on steel springs.

I have only test driven once on steel springs which had the smaller wheels. Dynamic mode on 20" wheels on air is similar to steel with 18" wheels (drive mode makes no difference to suspension settings in steel sprung cars).

Active dynamics basically makes everything better and keeps the car much better balanced when pushed (e.g. turns/cornering at speed). It basically seems to keep the car constantly levelled with no dipping or roll

Reactions: UberPace

·
Registered
205 Posts
For what it’s worth, my I-Pace with stock suspension and 20” alloys is very smooth and composed. I know that is subjective but I also have an E-Tron on air suspension and would rate the I-Pace on stock with 20” alloys, as equal to the E-Tron with 20” alloys set to dynamic mode. In fact setting the E-Tron to anything softer makes my passengers feel nauseated as it’s too floaty.