Jaguar I-Pace Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, perhaps someone smarter than me can understand this. The I-Pace is suppose to:

- Charge from 0-80% in 40 minutes
- Charge 100km in 15 minutes

based on a Fast DC charger capable of 100kW. Now, assuming a WLTP range of 480km, I did some calculations.

if the first statement is true, the I-Pace should be able to charge 144km in 15 minutes. Or 100km in 10-11 minutes. But if the second statement is true, the i-Pace charges from 0-80% in 57-58 minutes.

Also (and I am not an expert on this) I always believed that a 100kW charger is able to charge a battery max. 100kW and hour. I guess even a bit less due to efficiency/heat etc. This means that the maximum that can be charged by a 100kW charger in 40 minutes is 66-67kW. 80% of 90kW is 72kW.

What am I missing here?

·
Registered
32 Posts
a range of 480 km is not really realistic, I think that in this case you have to assume the realistic range is about 340 km and then the calculation is correct. furthermore, the available battery capacity is about 85-87 kW according to various sources.

·
Registered
755 Posts
A German test of the fast charging abilities of the I-Pace was rather disappointing. The charging speed was max 83 kw. They where not able to get more than 200A. That was on a 350 kw charger. So either the car or the charger must have a limitation. The car was btw a Prototype.
They also measured the power consumption on North German and South Danish roads. This also was a huge disappointment. 28,9 kwh/100km on average, compared to 20,0 kwh/100km fir a Tesla S driven the same route at the same time.
If the fast charging and consumption is as bad as this I will cancel my order for the I-Pace. 45% more consumption than the Model S indicates that JLR have made almost everything wrong when it comes to aerodynamics and power management.

G

·
FENorway said:
The car was btw a Prototype.