Jaguar I-Pace Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to EV's and am expecting delivery in April 2019. I am trying to learn about home charging options and am interested in the package offered by Octopus which includes a programmable home charger from Zappi. And green energy provision as an option. I would appreciate comments and advice.

·
Registered
1,403 Posts
The Octopus and Zappi partnership looks on the face of it to be well worth considering, I am also looking into it myself ready for delivery of my I Pace next year. The Zappi is a great piece of kit, but I am not totally sure how it can be set up to take advantage of the Octopus cheap tariff, ca, £0.05p Kwh overnight. Also, I don't have solar or wind power to take advantage of many of the Zappi features, so cost of the Zappi etc just to utilize the Octopus cheap over night tarrif has to be borne in mind.

Would be good to hear from anyone who has this set up, or anyone who has a Zappi with or without solar or wind power elements and advise if indeed it is possible to set charging periods directly through the Zappi itself rather than via the car. I also hear that Zappi are now offering a wifi enabled unit?

G

·
I have a largish solar installation (7.8kW peak) and am having a Zappi installed next week (but i Pace won't arrive until March); the user manual suggests that the Zappi can be set to charge at any chosen period including setting the charge window during off-peak, in my case Ecotricity midnight to 7am. I also see that the Zappi can detect off-peak tariff with an additional sensor. I will post what in reality the Zappi allows when I get the car... BTW the manual is at: https://myenergi.uk/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/zappi-manual-v1.2.pdf

·
Registered
1,403 Posts
Thanks slowlane for the info and manual, would be good to hear how things go when you are up and running.

·
Registered
143 Posts