Ubigi SIM

All Jaguar I-Pace related discussions
User avatar
Terry60
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:59 pm
Location: Wilts UK

Ubigi SIM

Post by Terry60 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 12:10 am

This should be a very short thread.
I just need to know before I see my dealer Wed.
Did your car come with an Ubigi SIM in the SIM slot next to the USB slots in the cubby between the front seats ?

I can't connect unless I put my own SIM in the slot, so either I have been short-changed on the 3 year IC pro package, or I have a Ubigi SIM non-functional in an unknown location.

I'd love to know which.
Last edited by Terry60 on Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ex A3 e-tron (138mpg over 4 years)
Now in Black HSE (every tech option, no bling) MY20 VIN 829.. IC S19B_19.35 Tele 16.2 Maps 100.153
Awaiting PV, Powerwall, Zappi.
Looking forward to free motoring. (barring the cost of all the kit !)


Goshdarnit
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 3:55 pm
Location: UK

Re: Ubigi SIM location ?

Post by Goshdarnit » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:14 am

You should have one in the slot in the centre console cubby. There’s no other sim slot in the car. There is another inbuilt sim but it’s not accessible by the user.


User avatar
Terry60
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:59 pm
Location: Wilts UK

Re: Ubigi SIM location ?

Post by Terry60 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:53 am

Thanks GD,
That's all I needed to know.
I'll ask tomorrow, where mine got to.
The day I collected the car, I knew nothing of an Ubigi monthly allowance and assumed the Jag was like the Audi, Connectivity only through a user supplied SIM, so I offered the PAYG one just taken from the trade-in, not knowing they should give me one anyway.
Though everyone says 500Mb/month is useless, it's probably enough for me.
I normally navigate by routes that have seldom come across the concept of "traffic", so on the very rare occasions where I might opt for a quick and dirty route, I can turn the feature on and benefit from a bit of free connectivity.

Which leads to a different question regarding the IC route planner.
Before I got the hang of correctly positioning waypoints, I created a number of half-baked routes which through inexperience of the app got sync'd with the car.
I can't see a way of deleting the duff ones without using the "delete all routes" nuclear option.
Anyone know how, if it is indeed possible ?
Last edited by Terry60 on Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ex A3 e-tron (138mpg over 4 years)
Now in Black HSE (every tech option, no bling) MY20 VIN 829.. IC S19B_19.35 Tele 16.2 Maps 100.153
Awaiting PV, Powerwall, Zappi.
Looking forward to free motoring. (barring the cost of all the kit !)


Goshdarnit
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 3:55 pm
Location: UK

Re: Ubigi SIM location ?

Post by Goshdarnit » Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:01 am

You can certainly give it a try. You should have received it anyway. But from what a lot of people say, it’s likely you might find the allowance isn’t enough. I just went straight to a monthly contract sim so I never really experimented with my Ubigi one. I like to have everything (including satellite imagery) turned on.


User avatar
Terry60
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:59 pm
Location: Wilts UK

Re: Ubigi SIM location ?

Post by Terry60 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:05 am

I'm the opposite.
I like the nav maps to be as minimalistic as possible, all heavy data options turned off.
Ex A3 e-tron (138mpg over 4 years)
Now in Black HSE (every tech option, no bling) MY20 VIN 829.. IC S19B_19.35 Tele 16.2 Maps 100.153
Awaiting PV, Powerwall, Zappi.
Looking forward to free motoring. (barring the cost of all the kit !)


User avatar
NightFox
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 7:36 pm
Location: Shropshire, UK

Re: Ubigi SIM location ?

Post by NightFox » Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:48 am

If you're leasing your car, you don't get the free Ubigi SIM. No great loss IMHO.


User avatar
Terry60
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:59 pm
Location: Wilts UK

Re: Ubigi SIM location ?

Post by Terry60 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 12:21 pm

I'm not leasing.
I own the i-Pace.
Ex A3 e-tron (138mpg over 4 years)
Now in Black HSE (every tech option, no bling) MY20 VIN 829.. IC S19B_19.35 Tele 16.2 Maps 100.153
Awaiting PV, Powerwall, Zappi.
Looking forward to free motoring. (barring the cost of all the kit !)


Paulsouthport
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 10:31 pm
Location: Liverpool

Re: Ubigi SIM location ?

Post by Paulsouthport » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:26 pm

NightFox wrote:
Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:48 am
If you're leasing your car, you don't get the free Ubigi SIM. No great loss IMHO.
I’m leasing and I do have the ubigi sim. I just keep it as a backup option.
I-Pace S, MY20 - built July 2019
S19B_19.35.5-418001
Telematics 16.2


Bigpurplepenguin
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 2:45 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Ubigi SIM location ?

Post by Bigpurplepenguin » Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:29 pm

Even with a lease you paid for the 3 year subscription including the sim. Think you've been shortchanged. A bit like me and the rear mounted bike carrier prep kit that's supposed to came as standard on all models.
Navrik Black HSE, 22" 5056 wheels, air suspension and dynamics, pano roof, privacy glass, and rear mounted bike carrier (but no wiring harness yet!).

19B / 16.2


User avatar
Terry60
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:59 pm
Location: Wilts UK

Re: Ubigi SIM location ?

Post by Terry60 » Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:12 am

I've now got my SIM and created an Ubigi account and in their FAQs it says "go to the 'My Account' tab to check remaining data allowance.
Am I being totally thick ?
There is no 'My account ' tab and I can't find the data allowance anywhere else, just lots of encouragement to buy extra data.
All I need the app for is to be able to check on data usage remotely and that's the only thing it seems unable to do.
Same applies to the online ubigi.me portal.
Ex A3 e-tron (138mpg over 4 years)
Now in Black HSE (every tech option, no bling) MY20 VIN 829.. IC S19B_19.35 Tele 16.2 Maps 100.153
Awaiting PV, Powerwall, Zappi.
Looking forward to free motoring. (barring the cost of all the kit !)


Post Reply

Return to “Main Jaguar I-Pace chat”