Navigation voice commands

Faults and Technical chat for the Jaguar I-Pace
daniellm
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:14 am
Location: New Zealand

Navigation voice commands

Post by daniellm » Sun Nov 10, 2019 4:27 am

Picked up my new I-Pace HSE on Friday. Impressive, with no issues so far except I can't enter navigation addresses using voice recognition. Car will recognise "Navigate to Home", but nothing else. Responds with "Function currently unavailable".

Should this work?
MY20, Indus Silver, HSE, Air Suspension, 20"
Telematics: 18.2, InControl: S19C, Battery energy control: BN-AAE-BC-AC-BE

User avatar
ELray
Posts: 643
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 2:02 am
Location: Norway

Re: Navigation voice commands

Post by ELray » Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:45 pm

Could be a dialect problem.
My advice would be to use Apple CarPlay or Android Auto for your voice commands. It’s way more advanced.
🇳🇴 Norway
:arrow: I-Pace S Edition X590 (19MY)
:arrow: Build date: 1 Feb 2019 | Delivered: 15 March 2019
⚙️ H264: 06.01.20
⚙️ Telematics: 16.2
⚙️ InControl(updOTA:13.12.19): 19C_19.46.4-458817
⚙️ BECS: Unknown
⚙️ Maps(upd:08.05.20): 08.030.0107.0158

*****
Posts: 1904
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:46 pm
Location: Forest of Dean. UK.

Re: Navigation voice commands

Post by ***** » Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:55 pm

ELray wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:45 pm
My advice would be to use Apple CarPlay or Android Auto for your voice commands. It’s way more advanced.
And hence not use the in-car Navigation System?

Coggeshallman
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 7:15 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Navigation voice commands

Post by Coggeshallman » Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:58 pm

Mine works perfectly, (doesn't the command say Go To, not, navigate to?)and bearing in mind that I am at present going through some major dental work and my speech is not perfect!
Corris Grey, Oyster Interior, Panoramic Roof, Front Fogs, Ambient Lighting.

daniellm
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:14 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Navigation voice commands

Post by daniellm » Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:58 pm

Speaking "Navigate to home" and "Go to home" both set my home address as the navigation destination. Other non-navigation voice commands also work, so I assume the car is able to understand my NZ accent.

Speaking "Navigate to <address>" or "Go to <address>" both result in the response "Function currently unavailable".
MY20, Indus Silver, HSE, Air Suspension, 20"
Telematics: 18.2, InControl: S19C, Battery energy control: BN-AAE-BC-AC-BE

daniellm
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:14 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Navigation voice commands

Post by daniellm » Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:52 pm

Coggeshallman wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:58 pm
Mine works perfectly, (doesn't the command say Go To, not, navigate to?)and bearing in mind that I am at present going through some major dental work and my speech is not perfect!
Is anyone other than Coggeshallman successfully using voice input to set navigation addresses?
MY20, Indus Silver, HSE, Air Suspension, 20"
Telematics: 18.2, InControl: S19C, Battery energy control: BN-AAE-BC-AC-BE

Hodgo
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:22 am
Location: Australia

Re: Navigation voice commands

Post by Hodgo » Tue Apr 14, 2020 9:47 am

Daniellm - did you ever get to the bottom of this?
It refuses to understand my Aussie accent, it typically responds with "I'm sorry I didn't get that...."
I've tried talking naturally. I've even tried immitating the voices of Prince Charles, Michael Caine and even Billy Connolly (but not at the same time). Nothing works.
My wife's tried and it gives her the cold shoulder too.
Very infuriating!
You're a Kiwi, I'm an Ossie - could this be the Brit's getting us back for our superior cricket and rugby teams?
Something connected to Brexit perhaps........
HSE, Corris Grey, 20" wheels

scm
Posts: 936
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:11 pm
Location: Southampton

Re: Navigation voice commands

Post by scm » Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:00 am

Hodgo wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 9:47 am
You're a Kiwi, I'm an Ossie - could this be the Brit's getting us back for our superior cricket and rugby teams?
Something connected to Brexit perhaps........
We love you Aussies! It's those pesky Europeans we're getting away from. ;) :lol:

daniellm
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:14 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Navigation voice commands

Post by daniellm » Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:09 am

Hodgo, unfortunately I have only been able to get two commands to work, "Navigate home" and "Cancel navigation". I have not been able to use voice to enter any form of destination address.
MY20, Indus Silver, HSE, Air Suspension, 20"
Telematics: 18.2, InControl: S19C, Battery energy control: BN-AAE-BC-AC-BE

User avatar
Lobster
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon May 20, 2019 2:10 pm
Location: South Australia

Re: Navigation voice commands

Post by Lobster » Tue Apr 14, 2020 11:41 am

Many Aussies think that the people over the ditch (in NZ) swap their vowels, could that be the problem?

Does the I-Pace for the New Zealand market have a dealer selected regional language setting?

Sorry I have not tried the I-Pace voice commands, may be something for me to try during this lock-down.

Cheers, Steve
MY19 |1st Edition | Photon Red/Ebony | 20" 5070s |
H264 | H280 v2 | SOTA | S19C_19.46.4-458817 | TCU: J8A2-70712-AY (18.2) | BECS: BP-AAE-BC-AC-BE |
Map: 8.30.107.158 |

Post Reply